Become a Member of UVAC

Consider becoming a member. Meet with a group of like-minded individuals to share stories, attend special events and MORE. Annual Membership fees are very affordable.

Ham of the Year

2022 Awards

Clancy Mills



Mark Rowell


This year we had a tie!

Previous Recipients of the HOTY Award

  • Lynn Patterson – 2021
  • Paul Branchfield – 2020
  • Doug Hockinson – 2019
  • Russ Nelson – 2018
  • Steve Burke – 2017
  • Christine Masters – 2016
  • Jim Stuntz – 2015
  • Wayne Estes – 2014
  • Jim Stuntz – 2013
  • George Roth – 2012

Nomination Guidelines

Each year the Umpqua Valley ARC honors one member with the Ham-of-the-Year Award. This is our opportunity to recognize and honor one of these unsung heroes. All it takes is some thought and a short letter to the selection committee.

This award is based on someone who:

  • is an “ideal ham”.
  • promotes amateur radio and uses good operating practices.
  • does more than asked.
  • works quietly in the background.
  • is always there when needed.

For more Ham of the Year information click below…